Appendix VII: Officials of the House of Commons

Published in The History of Parliament: the House of Commons 1690-1715, ed. D. Hayton, E. Cruickshanks, S. Handley, 2002
Available from Boydell and Brewer

Officials of the House of Commons

Unless otherwise stated, information has been drawn from the following sources: D. Gray, Chaplain to Mr Speaker (H.C. Lib. Doc. 19), 59-62; W.R. McKay, Secretaries to Mr Speaker (H.C. Lib. Doc. 14), 37; P. Thorne and M. Cummins, Serjeant for the Commons (H.C. Lib. Doc. 13, 2nd edn., 1994), 37; and O.C. Williams, The Clerical Organization of the House of Commons 1661-1850 (1954), 281-3. Dates refer to tenure of office.

Clerk of the House

Paul Jodrell 1683-1727

Clerk Assistant

Culverwell Needler 1689-1710

Edward Stables 1710-1727


Hicks Burrough 1689-1733

George Cole 1689- 1720

James Courthope 1689-1720

John Hookes 1689-c.1718

Sergeant at Arms

Sir William Bishop 1675-93

Samuel Powell 1693-1709

Thomas Wybergh 1709-1717


Anne Ryall to 1704

Thomas Smith 1704-aft. 17181

Speaker’s secretary

Clement Kirke ?1705-1708

Speaker’s chaplain

Thomas Manningham 1690-1694

Maurice Vaughan 1694-?1695 (appointed by Sir John Trevor)

Samuel Barton ?1695-?1697 (appointed by Paul Foley )

William Hallifax ?1697-1698

William Galloway 1698-1700

John Herne 1701

Francis Gastrell 1701-2

William Stratford 1702-5

Thomas Goddard 1705-8

Laurence Brodrick 1708-10

Jonathan Kimberley 1710-1713

John Pelling 1713-1714

Ref Volumes: 1690-1715

Author: D. W. Hayton

End Notes

  • 1. Cal. Treas. Bks. xix. 557; xxxii. 292. Cf. CSP Dom. 1703-4, p. 328.