History of Parliament annual undergraduate dissertation competition

The History of Parliament Trust's annual undergraduate dissertation competition is now open. The HPT will award a prize of £250 to the best undergraduate dissertation presented in 2018 on a subject relating to British or Irish parliamentary or political history before 1997. Parliamentary History has agreed to consider publication in the Journal for the winning dissertation (the decision to publish or not will be at the discretion of the editor of Parliamentary History, who may ask for appropriate amendments).

We invite university history departments to enter one dissertation which they consider to qualify (please note: we will not accept entries directly from the students themselves, they must be submitted by their university department). The university departments should send an unbound copy of each dissertation being entered for the prize, together with a completed entry form (available to download here) to ‘History of Parliament Dissertation competition, 18 Bloomsbury Square, London WC1A 2NS’.  Copies will not be returned.

The closing date for receipt of entries is 31 July 2018.

For any queries, please contact the competitions email at the History of Parliament: competitions@histparl.ac.uk

For information on 2017’s winner, see our blog.