History of Parliament Schools Competitions 2014

The details for both schools competitions are now available! For the tenth year running we will run competitions for 11-14 year olds (key stage three) and 16-18 year olds (sixth formers). This year we have based our Key Stage Three competition partly on our new schools section.

The winners of both competitions will receive prizes of book tokens or money, and will be invited to Westminster with members of their family and teachers for the presentation of their prizes.

Our Key Stage Three competition has two options.

Option one: Entrants can tell us about the Reformation in their local area, either by writing a newspaper report on the local impact of the changes, or by writing a report on what happened to a local religious building during the Reformation. Students are advised to make use of our new schools materials on the Reformation.

Option two: entrants are asked to imagine they were an MP in August 1914, and to write a speech in reaction to the speech given by the Foreign Secretary, Sir Edward Grey, which called for Britain to go to war.

The winners of the competition will receive a prize of book tokens, and be invited with their families and teachers to Westminster to receive their prize. The closing date for the competition is 30 July 2014. For full details on how to enter, competition rules, and for resources for students, click here.

Our Sixth Form competition is again an essay competition, with the prize awarded to the best essay on a subject of the candidate's own choice related to the parliamentary or political history of Britain and Ireland.

The winner will receive a cash prize and again be invited to Westminister to receive this. Again, the closing date is after the summer holidays to give students who have just finished their GCSEs and are preparing for their A Levels a chance to enter as well. The closing date is 30 September 2014. For full details on competition rules and how to enter, click here.

To read about last year’s winners, see here.

Good luck to all the entrants!