Published in The History of Parliament: the House of Commons 1715-1754, ed. R. Sedgwick, 1970
Available from Boydell and Brewer

Background Information

Number of voters:

20 in 1722


15 Feb. 1715Hon. JOHN CAMPBELL 
25 Apr. 1722MUNGO HALDANE20
 Hon. John Campbell12
 CAMPBELL vice Haldane, on petition, 23 Jan. 1725 
28 Sept. 1727JOHN CAMPBELL of Mamore 
31 May 1734JOHN CAMPBELL of Mamore 
4 June 1741JOHN CAMPBELL of Mamore 
24 July 1747JOHN CAMPBELL of Mamore 

Main Article

From the Union till George III’s accession the representation of Dunbartonshire was virtually monopolized by John Campbell, uncle of the 2nd and 3rd Dukes of Argyll, and from 1727 by his son and namesake, who became the 4th Duke in 1761. The only contest occurred in 1722, when Campbell was defeated by Mungo Haldane, a member of the Squadrone, but was seated on petition by the House of Commons, who decided that twelve of the twenty who had voted for Haldane were not qualified, leaving Campbell with a majority.1

Author: J. M. Simpson


  • 1. CJ, xx. 34-35, 228, 333-4, 378-9.