Double Member Borough

Published in The History of Parliament: the House of Commons 1754-1790, ed. L. Namier, J. Brooke., 1964
Available from Boydell and Brewer

Background Information

Right of Election:

in burgage holders

Number of voters:

about 80


15 Apr. 1754Charles Ingram
 Sir Lionel Pilkington
1 Apr. 1761Charles Ingram
 Sir Lionel Pilkington
22 Nov. 1763Robert Pratt vice Ingram, became a peer of Scotland
18 Mar. 1768James Grenville
 Robert Pratt
18 Apr. 1770James Wallace vice Granville, vacated his seat
8 Oct. 1774James Wallace
 Jeremiah Dyson
28 Oct. 1775Charles Moore, Earl of Drogheda, vice Dyson, deceased
10 June 1778Wallace re-elected after appointment to office
12 July 1780Wallace re-elected after appointment to office
9 Sept. 1780George Legge, Visct. Lewisham
 James Wallace
30 Nov. 1780Sir George Osborn vice Lewisham, chose to sit for Staffordshire
22 Apr. 1783Wallace re-elected after appointment to office
28 Nov. 1783James Craufurd vice Wallace, deceased
1 Apr. 1784Jeremiah Crutchley
 Philip Metcalfe

Main Article

In 1754 Henry Ingram, 7th Viscount Irwin, owned a majority of the burgages at Horsham and controlled both seats. On the death s.p. in 1778 of Charles, 9th and last Viscount, the property devolved upon his widow, who in 1780 and 1784 placed both seats at the disposal of Administration. In 1786 Charles, 11th Duke of Norfolk, lord of the manor of Horsham, began purchasing burgages with a view to challenging the Irwin interest, which he did at the general election of 1790.

Author: John Brooke


W. Albery, Parlty. Hist. Horsham .