Double Member Borough

Published in The History of Parliament: the House of Commons 1754-1790, ed. L. Namier, J. Brooke., 1964
Available from Boydell and Brewer

Background Information

Right of Election:

in burgage holders

Number of voters:

about 200


16 Apr. 1754Edwin Lascelles
 Daniel Lascelles
30 Mar. 1761Daniel Lascelles
 Edward Lascelles
18 Mar. 1768Daniel Lascelles
 Edward Lascelles
10 Oct. 1774Daniel Lascelles
 Henry Peirse
11 Sept. 1780Daniel Lascelles
 Henry Peirse
9 Dec. 1780Edwin Lascelles vice Daniel Lascelles, vacated his seat
5 Apr. 1784Edwin Lascelles
 Henry Peirse

Main Article

The majority of the burgages were owned by the Lascelles family of Harewood and the Peirse family of Bedale; and normally they each recommended one Member. But from 1754 to 1774, while Henry Peirse was under age, both seats were held by the Lascelles.

Author: John Brooke