Appendix V

Published in The History of Parliament: the House of Commons 1790-1820, ed. R. Thorne, 1986
Available from Boydell and Brewer

Speakers of the House of Commons

8 June 1789Henry Addington 
11 Feb. 1801Sir John Mitford 
11 Feb. 1802Charles Abbot 
2 June 1817Charles Manners Sutton 

Chairmen of Ways and Means1


31 May 1784                                      
Thomas Gilbert
3 Feb. 1792Hon. Henry Hobart
22 Feb. 1799Charles Bragge
30 Nov. 1801Henry Alexander
29 Dec. 1806Benjamin Hobhouse
29 Jan. 1808Richard Wharton
2 Feb. 1810Stephen Rumbold Lushington
17 Dec. 1813James Brogden

Ref Volumes: 1790-1820

Author: R. G. Thorne

End Notes

  • 1. The dates supplied are those from which they sat as chairmen in the House.