Double Member Borough

Published in The History of Parliament: the House of Commons 1754-1790, ed. L. Namier, J. Brooke., 1964
Available from Boydell and Brewer

Background Information

Right of Election:

in inhabitants paying scot and lot

Number of voters:



16 Apr. 1754James Colebrooke
 Thomas Brand
25 Mar. 1761Sir James Colebrooke
 Thomas Brand
5 Dec. 1761Edward Harvey vice Colebrooke, deceased
21 Mar. 1768John Damer
 Joseph Martin
7 Oct. 1774Sir William Mayne
 Robert Scott
27 Dec. 1774Robert Mayne vice Sir William Mayne, chose to sit for Canterbury
 William Adam vice Scott, chose to sit for Wootton Bassett
9 Sept. 1780William Mayne, Baron Newhaven
 Robert Mayne
9 Sept. 1782Maurice Lloyd vice Robert Mayne, deceased
1 Apr. 1784William Mayne, Baron Newhaven
 Maurice Lloyd
26 Feb. 1787James Fraser vice Lloyd, vacated his seat

Main Article

Gatton had a fairly wide franchise, but because of its decayed state was a complete pocket borough. In 1754 the patrons were Sir James Colebrooke, lord of the manor of Gatton, and the Rev. John Tattersall, lord of the manor of Upper Gatton. Colebrooke died in 1761 and was succeeded by his brother George; Tattersall died in 1769 and was succeeded by his brother James. The Tattersalls were closely connected with the Duke of Bedford, and from 1754 to 1768 placed their seat at Gatton at Bedford’s disposal.

In 1774 Sir William Mayne (later Lord Newhaven) bought the manors of Gatton and acquired control of both seats. About 1786 he conveyed his estates there to his relatives the Grahams of Kinross;1‘since when’, wrote Oldfield in 1792,2 the borough ‘has been purchased and repurchased by three or four different persons’.

Author: John Brooke


  • 1. Mary to Geo. Graham, 25 Nov. 1787, 9 Feb. 1788, Kinross House Pprs., NLS.
  • 2. Boroughs, iii. 24.